Managing sub-user accounts

There may be times when you would like to allow access, through Onyx to one, or more sites. You have the ability to create additional Onyx user accounts and assign them access to one or more sites.

This process is designed for creating sub-account access to specific sites and all associated settings within your Onyx dashboard. This process will not create a new WordPress admin user. Any new Onyx user accounts you create will have Administrator level access to the WordPress sites you assign to them.

This process may not be appropriate, if, for example you simply with to add an Author or Editor - in this cases you should create new WordPress users within the specific site and assign the appropriate role/permission there.

Some uses of this feature might be:

  • Giving administrator access to a site and all it's Onyx settings to a developer
  • An agency giving a client full access to their sites through Onyx
  • An agency giving permissions to specific site to a member of staff

When you setup another user in your Onyx account all you will have to do is provide their email address and select which site(s) they are permitted access. Once this is done the Onyx platform will send the user an email. If the user already has Onyx sites under that email address then they can signing as normal and select the newly allocated sites from their portal. If this is their first Onyx site then will be asked to setup a password prior to being able to access the sites. The new user will be able to sign-in to the Onyx Portal from the Onyx website itself, just as the account holder would.

  1. From your Onyx dashboard, dropdown your account menu (your username in the top right-hand corner), and select Manage Users.
  2. Click Add a User
  3. Enter a valid email address for the user, select the site(s) they should have access to and then click Create service user.
  4. That’s it! The new user has been created and will now receive an email with their next steps.

Revoke a users access

  1. From your Onyx dashboard, dropdown your account menu (your username in the top right-hand corner), and select Manage Users.

    Click 'Revoke' next to the user you wish to remove, and click OK on the following check prompt to complete removal.




How did we do?


Powered by HelpDocs
© onyx.io 2019