Creating a clone or staging site from a backup

There are several options for making copies of your sites. This guide covers cloning from a site backup - making a completely separate copy of a site that'll run on a different URL.

We have other guides on creating a clone from a live site or creating a stating site (where any changes you make can be pushed back to the live site).

Visit Backups from the left hand menu and then click the Details button for the backup from which you'd like to create the clone.

Click the Create a staging site or clone from this backup link.

Enter the required detail:

Please choose a name for your cloned site? - Give the site a suitable name

Please choose a subdomain for your cloned site? - this will appear at the start of your new sites URL

Would you like to restrict access to this clone? - choose either No - Make the cloned site public or Yes - Require a password to view the site.

If you selected Yes - Require a password to view the site you'll need to follow our guide to create authorised users.

Would you like to clone to a new site? - choose either No - clone to staging or Yes - Clone to a brand new site

Clone copies count towards your Onyx site limit, staging sites do not. You can have up to two staging sites per live site.

Click Create from backup when you've entered all the details and you new cloned site will be created.

We have a separate guide on accessing and working with your staging sites.


How did we do?


Powered by HelpDocs
© onyx.io 2019